Straight To His Heart Peanut Butter Cookies

peanut-butter-cookie-2

When my son was growing up he really didn’t have much of a sweet tooth like most kids do.  In fact I thought it was down right weird for a kid.   However he did have one sweet vice that went straight to his heart and those were peanut butter cookies.  He is now 23 years old and a good classic peanut butter cookie still makes him go YUM!  Even when your kids grow up there is nothing like seeing that twinkle back in their eyes.   Oh my, I am getting a bit misty eyed….so, anyway here is my recipe and I hope you enjoy it as much as Cameron and  I do.  You never know, you might start a peanut butter cookie tradition with your own kids!

I am also combining a “lower calorie”, sugar free,  no loss in taste recipe with my regular one.  Now that he’s not home I make them a bit less dangerous to my hips.  I’ve even given them to my son and he had NO clue.

What You Need

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter creamy or chunky
  • 3/4 cup good quality butter (makes sure its room temp)
  • 3/4 cup of white sugar or SPLENDA
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar packed (if you use SPLENDA Brown sugar you only use 6 tablespoons)
  • 2 large fresh eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon of peanut butter extract

Lets Make Them!

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees

  • In a bowl add flour, baking soda, powder and salt, mix and set aside
  • Beat together the room temp butter, peanut butter and both sugars until light and fluffy (I use my Kitchenaid) then beat in the eggs and both extracts
  • Slowly, a little at a time add your flour mixture on low speed.  Once combined chill your dough in the fridge about 3 hours make sure you cover the top.
  • Take a tablespoon and measure out your dough then roll into balls with your hands.
  • Put them on a greased baking sheet (butter flavored PAM is how I grease my baking sheet)
  • Now get a small bowl out and put some flour in it, grab a fork and dip it into the flour and gently press down on the cookie making a criss cross pattern on each cookie.  Don’t press to hard or you’ll end up with a frisbee hard cookie 😉

Place in your pre heated oven until tops are golden brown….I bake them between 10-12 minutes.  Take them out and let them cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet before you transfer to a cooling cookie rack.  I know it’s hard but let those cookies cool completely before grabbing one or it will crumble into cookie bits which by the way are awesome too LOL.

The waiting for the cooling was murderous for my son so I usually had them ready for him when school was out and he didn’t “suffer” to much hahahahaa.

Okay well that’s that I hope you love them as much as we do!  Oh you can PRINT this recipe out just look for the print tab below 🙂

jamiesig

150x150

Leave a comment